ADVERTISEMENT

JoePa and Wrestling

a_mshaffer

Dec 8, 2014
Curious what JoePa's relationship with the wrestling team was back in the day. He had some very good football players that were state champs. Was there a Franklin type of relationship? Being a PSU fan I should know but I don't. Also hoping this q would spur on some memories of those greats (in the event they did wrestle some)...

Reactions: coolm19
I know he generally distanced himself from attending other sporting events, not because he didn’t enjoy them, but because too much attention was focused in him and he didn’t want to detract from the athletes. I believe he attended a basketball game once at Rec when I was a student in the early 80’s. He got up to go to the men’s room and got a standing ovation. I believe that might have been one of the last he attended.

And I will never distance myself from JoePa! He was a great man. I went to PSU with his son Dave. We did not see him much (for clarity purposes, he means JoePa, not Dave, lol), but did see Sue fairly often along with the youngest son. My last spring he did come to our study hall room on 3rd floor Beaver Hall and gave a short motivational speech, then stayed for at least on hour until he met, signed and took pictures with anyone that wanted one. It was supposed to only be guys from our floor, but of course word got out and the place was mobbed.

Last edited:
I know he generally distanced himself from attending other sporting events, not because he didn’t enjoy them, but because too much attention was focused in him and he didn’t want to detract from the athletes. I believe he attended a basketball game once at Rec when I was a student in the early 80’s. He got up to go to the men’s room and got a standing ovation. I believe that might have been one of the last he attended.