ADVERTISEMENT

Anyone who was in State College in the mid 1980s

Surf Club, LOL. I hated that place. I was a fan of Nellos. They had Bass Ale on tap.
But if you were there in '87 Scorpion might have been closed by then. Not sure of the exact date but I know it was in the late 80's.
It was still there when I graduated in '85 and I know it was there at least until '86 because I went to it at an Arts Fest.
Not sure of the exact date. I knew it was 1988. According to this article, "sometime in October (1988)."
LINK: Lease problems sting Scorpion

What I remember most is that the sound was great. Bands did love to play there. I carried equipment in for a few bands there.

"Berrigan said that he never had to actively track down acts to perform at the Scorpion, because "this place rode along on reputation...I've been told by many bands that acoustically, it's one of the best rooms that they've ever played in," said Berrigan."

Reactions: BBrown
If you ever want to take a walk back in time, check out the The Collegian Archive site sometime. They have every issue digitized and you can browse the images of the exact newspaper pages. I've done this a few times when trying to recall when and where my wife may have attended something while we were students. It's a trip to see some of the old ads for bars, their drink specials and what bands were appearing on a particular weekend.

Ok, admittedly I wasn't a huge bar hopper during my college days, but I didn't live in Hammond library either......how is it I never heard of the Scorpion? Where was it?
I was more of a Gaff, GMan, Surf Club, Cafe 210 kinda guy.
I was a huge bar hopper and barely remember the Scorpion. Probably was there for my fraternity's bar-a-thon when we went to 18 bars and played it like golf (beer was par, mixed drink was a bogie, shot was an eagle). More of a G-Man, Skellar, Den, Saloon, Phyrst, 210, Train Yard kinda guy. Only band I remember by name is Phyrst Family (RIP Ernie)!