ADVERTISEMENT

Your most personal experience with Joe!

Back in the mid 70's we gave the groomsmen autographed copies of one of Joe's books. While we were in his office, he scolded my wife for marrying a "dumb Italian!" Gotta love it!
I graduated during the Rip Engle era. Joe was frequently visible walking around campus. Best I can offer is a wave and hi coach, he nodded back and of course had no idea who I was.

I met him at the Lancaster Sports Banquet in the mid-1960s. Got his autograph and a nice handshake. Got Rip Engle's autograph too. Rip wrote "You are a nice young man" and then signed his name. I still have those.

I got two: My first encounter with Joe was as a freshman in the fall of 1984. I was walking down McKean Rd. from the Greenberg ice rink after a skating class (to improve my hockey skills) to Willard Building with a girl from class. We were walking fast since we both had to go all the way across campus when I notice somebody walking towards us on the sidewalk. As we got closer, I realized it was none other than Joe. As he approached, he said, and I quote, "Hustle! You don't want to be late for class." After he passed, I said to the girl, "Oh my God! You know who that was?" She didn't. :(

My second personal experience is even better...