ADVERTISEMENT

OT. Florida

Grass

Gold Member
May 31, 2001
South San Francisco
I'm thinking about moving from the Bay Area to Florida. Been here for close to 7 years and I'm wanting to head back east and Florida would be my ideal location due to my hate of long, cold winters. I was a bartender in South Beach and in lived Ft. Lauderdale in my younger years so I'm not looking to go back to either location now that I'm married. Too many "distractions" if you know what I mean. I was thinking about Key West (love to snorkel, paddle board and kayak), but my wife thinks it's too small and she wants to live closer to a major city. Quite honestly that's the entire reason I enjoy Key West. I'm in wireless telecom and there aren't a lot of jobs in Florida, but I have a lot of management experience and I think I could find work in another industry. Any opinions on possible areas to check out? Needs to be close to the ocean and fairly close to a city (for the wife) with a lot of options for water activities (snorkeling is important). I was already checking out St. Petersburg, Sarasota and Naples, but I'm not all that familiar with the west coast of Florida. Thanks in advance!

20622244_1619999024706647_1379570925608754796_n.jpg

Biased to the east coast - Jupiter. Juno Beach even better.

end_august88-2.jpg

Last edited:
The big difference between east and west coasts is that the west seems a little more laid back and the ocean experience is quite different. East has a lot more surf, while the west (Gulf of Mexico) is usually much calmer. You also see different transplants--the West has a lot of Canadians and midwesterners (due to I-75 being the major route in). You'll see a lot more NE types on the east coast--due to I-95.

My folks lived in Englewood (halfway between Ft Meyers and Sarasota) for 10+ years and I was down for Christmas almost all of those (oddly enough, my wife's aunt and uncle also lived there at the time). I liked the Englewood area, myself.