ADVERTISEMENT

OT Bad tornados in north central PA tonight

Mount Pocono and Stroudsburg keep your guard up you could be next.... The cell is not giving up or weakening yet
We just got the Tornado Warning notification.
Take cover ...this is no joke ...this cell has produced at least 3 tornados in different places tonight ... mt Pocono and stroudsburg now under tornado warnings
Thanks. I’m a firefighter, so if the shit hits the fan I’ll be out in it. Looks like Mundy St. by the Wyoming Valley Mall really got hammered.

Luzerne Co-Wilkes Barre Twp, Commercial building collapses at Panera Bread and Barnes and Noble

Multiple entrapped and 3 unaccounted for at Panera Bread

Also Smokey Bones, light poles on cars with entrapment.

Multiple vehicles overturned in parking lots

22:22hrs-reports of collapse at Dicks Sporting Goods also

22:25hrs major structural collapse Ashley Furniture

22:41 Luzerne Co Technical Rescue Team activated, Avoca Rescue, Nanticoke and Mountaintop

22:50 once Rescue team is assembled, building searches will commence. Search of Smokey Bones underway

Wilkesbarre township Police report

Report of multiple collapsed buildings area of Mundy Street, drivers are asked to avoid Mundy Street around the Wyoming Valley Mall to allow emergency personal access the area.

Some of the pics coming in are heartbreaking ... Buildings and businesses just demolished with heavy structural damage
The images I saw of the strip mall with Tovan, Panera and Gamestop ... just unreal. So sad. Dick's, B&N, Petsmart. By far the worst disaster to hit the area since 2011 flood.

I'm 13 miles away and there isn't a twig in my yard. It's amazing how centralized these storms can be.
It really is something. I'm from the Greater Pittston area and likewise. Thunder and lightning off in the distance. Persistent rain, but nothing harmful.