ADVERTISEMENT

On this date in 1863, Lee rolled the dice and lost.

fairgambit

Aug 20, 2010
Pickett's charge. The South never fully recovered, although the war would drag on for nearly 2 more years.
63-7-3-the-high-water-at-gettysburg_detail.jpg

I'm no expert on 19th century infantry tactics, but I've walked the battlefield, and I cannot understand how anybody who did know anything about it could look at that ground and think that an infantry charge could possibly succeed.

Pickett's charge. The South never fully recovered, although the war would drag on for nearly 2 more years.
63-7-3-the-high-water-at-gettysburg_detail.jpg

WHAT A SHOCK...yet, another war thread on a football board. Well, not really a shock.

It was over at Little Round Top. The South failed because they did only the minimum of what was expected of them.

Reactions: 91Joe95
One of the brothers lef
WHAT A SHOCK...yet, another war thread on a football board. Well, not really a shock.

It was over at Little Round Top. The South failed because they did only the minimum of what was expected of them.

one of the brothers left a Diet Coke at little round top. About 11 pm the pledges had to go retrieve it. It's different at night

Reactions: TheGLOV and 91Joe95
It was on this date that my great great great grandfather volunteered to join 8 others and charged a cabin housing confederate 'snipers,' secured the cabin and took them all captive, becoming one of 63 men to earn the Medal of Honor at Gettysburg in the process, an item I proudly have in a safe in my home.

I recently heard that a remarkably low % of Union troops in the area of Gettysburg actually saw combat during the battle. If that's accurate it makes the failure to cut off or even pursue the rebels back to VA astounding.

Grant, Sherman and Sheridan all understood that moving forward and not giving the adversary any breathing room was key to victory.