ADVERTISEMENT

Law School: PA legal market

psuguy43

Sep 28, 2002
So, I'm trying to decide between the two PSU campuses (Dickinson and PS Law). Both are with unconditional 100% tuition scholarships, Dickinson is with an additional $15k living stipend ($5k/yr). Goal after graduation is to probably practice in PA or the surrounding area.

Knowing the legal market, is Dickinson a no-brainer in this situation? That's what my head is saying, but my heart is having a hard time turning down a return to Happy Valley (I graduated UG 7 yrs ago). The view of Beaver Stadium from their reading room in the law library is awe inspiring!

Last edited:
So, I'm trying to decide between the two PSU campuses (Dickinson and PS Law). Both are with unconditional 100% tuition scholarships, Dickinson is with an additional $15k stipend ($5k/yr). Goal after graduation is to probably practice in PA or the surrounding area.

Knowing the legal market, is Dickinson a no-brainer in this situation? That's what my head is saying, but my heart is having a hard time turning down a return to Happy Valley (I graduated UG 7 yrs ago). The view of Beaver Stadium from their reading room in the law library is awe inspiring!

Where do you want to practice in PA? Not a lawyer, but from what I understand getting internships is better at Dickinson given it's relation to Harrisburg (state capital) verses State College. Not sure if that's still true or what the job market for lawyers is in PA now. I'm sure the lawyers here will jump in eventually.

I went to Dickinson and I would pick UPark every single day of the week. Better ranked. Better professors. Better town.

Carlisle is a very boring place to go to school.

By the way, if you are in the top 10-15% of your class at UPark or Dickinson you will have a ton of options.