ADVERTISEMENT

Further point about the "Penn State game-day traditions" thread below.

demlion

Feb 4, 2004
When I was a student for 76-80, we always sang "We don't know the GD words," because (at least in my own case) I didn't know the GD words. Nor did I care to learn them. Mostly that grew out of my generalized disdain for the People In Charge, and that disdain was not limited to those in charge at PSU.

Over the following years, I used to ask the Alumni Association beggars who called me for funds whether John Oswald was still being chauffeured around town in a Lincoln Town Car, and ask them why they thought an outfit that spent money so wildly should get some of mine that I worked for so hard.

Over time I grew out of that callow view and began to respect the traditions a little more--donating some $$, singing the actual words to the Alma Mater, and the like.

Then In November 2011, I found I had been right all along--the People in Charge were a$$holes, they were worthy of only contempt and they would not be getting anymore of my money. And they haven't. And they won't. And I paid for this ticket and I will sing whatever words I think are appropriate, including "we don't know the GD words."

Somebody thinks that is inappropriate? That's ok. I am not asking them to sing along with me.

When I was a student for 76-80, we always sang "We don't know the GD words," because (at least in my own case) I didn't know the GD words. Nor did I care to learn them. Mostly that grew out of my generalized disdain for the People In Charge, and that disdain was not limited to those in charge at PSU.

Over the following years, I used to ask the Alumni Association beggars who called me for funds whether John Oswald was still being chauffeured around town in a Lincoln Town Car, and ask them why they thought an outfit that spent money so wildly should get some of mine that I worked for so hard.