ADVERTISEMENT

“Penn State hiring assistant vice president for diversity, inclusion, belonging”

This is the step I have been waiting for PSU to take. I am now comfortable renewing my donations to the university for the first time since late 2011.

I work in the Legal industry and all of our big law firm clients now have Chief Inclusion and diversity officers. It's always a AA guy or gal of course and I a just can't figure out their role 40 hours a week. Sure, make sure the firm is at least partially represented by minority EE's and the like, but what else do they do during the week?

Was going to write a witty reply talking about my diverse ideas on topics.....but have decided to not post my thoughts for fear that someone takes them out of context and I get noise for trying to make a joke..........Happy 2020.

I work in the Legal industry and all of our big law firm clients now have Chief Inclusion and diversity officers. It's always a AA guy or gal of course and I a just can't figure out their role 40 hours a week. Sure, make sure the firm is at least partially represented by minority EE's and the like, but what else do they do during the week?
Likewise. In my case, particularly recently, they barrage you with daily emails about D&I events.

I do so love it when managers and principals work for staff rather than the other way around, whether it is marketing, HR, or any other department.

But hey, shit flows downhill. Clients demand it (mainly because corporations juiced their female executive stats by putting them in HR and legal so they wouldn't actually run the business with the boys), so law firms respond, and demand it of consultants, etc. etc. etc.

Likewise. In my case, particularly recently, they barrage you with daily emails about D&I events.

I do so love it when managers and principals work for staff rather than the other way around, whether it is marketing, HR, or any other department.