ADVERTISEMENT

I'm eating late tonight and having this.....

giphy.gif

Its rare to meet one outside of PA or Ohio.... our numbers are dwindling.
Sadly true. I'm in my 60's and too many of my generation started going to Latin Rite churches and only come back at Christmas or Easter, if then. It's a shame because our Liturgy and traditions are so beautiful. I have asked Latin Rite friends to join me on Sunday from time to time, and when they do, they really enjoy it, but they are not our future. We need an aggressive campaign to bring back those who left and to encourage others to give us a try, but no one seems to be doing much of anything.

I remember the first really nice spring day (probably mid-Feb) when I was a freshman at KU. Maybe 6-8 weeks after PSU 15 - KU 14.

Came home after an early afternoon class and probably half my frat (40+guys) were out and up on our roof's Southern exposure getting some rays. (We had a new modernistic house only two years old, looked like a ski lodge with a very gentle sloping roofline.)

I quickly threw on some shorts and went to join them, then learned what all my fellow frosh were also learning. We were allowed to go to the roof only AFTER hitting the kitchen and having one of our frat's cooks slap some bacon grease all over our bodies so we got a good, quick, great looking tan! It really speeded up the process!

The frat's two dogs sure had busy noses the next few days!

I used baby oil back when I was too dumb to care about consequences and had a reasonable chance to impress a young woman with my tanned and toned body. At this point in life, I generally try to cover up as much of me as I can.

Reactions: ILLINOISLION
I'm glad I'm not the only one here.:)
It's amazing to me that I started a thread about bacon and ended up talking about the Byzantine Rite.