ADVERTISEMENT

I wish: Kobe

Cowbell Man

Feb 2, 2002
I was a wrestler. I was a coach. I wish I had been better at both.

As wrestlers we always said,,, and BELIEVED... “It was better to wrestle and lose than play basketball”. It’s just fun sport rivalry. It doesn’t matter. Unless you are the basketball player getting fouled by a wrestler.

I cycle. I have played football. I have been a Lion Mascot to all of you. But I have also wondered what it would feel like to be blessed with the talents of Kobe Bryant, Joe Montana, Wayne Gretzky, or my own personal hero, Ed Marinaro. I know what it feels like to wear something cool, be someone else and have 100k people cheer for me. But it don’t know what’s it like to be so good at something that people can’t speak. They just open their mouths and stare. I wish I knew.

I’m also a dad. I know that that’s like.

This hurts. I’m a Celtic fan and...And a dad. This sucks.

Last edited:

As wrestlers we always said,,, and BELIEVED... “It was better to wrestle and lose than play basketball”. It’s just fun sport rivalry. It doesn’t matter. Unless you are the basketball player getting fouled by a wrestler.

I cycle. I have played football. I have been a Lion Mascot to all of you. But I have also wondered what it would feel like to be blessed with the talents of Kobe Bryant, Joe Montana, Wayne Gretzky, or my own personal hero, Ed Marinaro. I know what it feels like to wear something cool, be someone else and have 100k people cheer for me. But it don’t know what’s it like to do so good at something that people can’t speak. They just open their mouths and stare. I wish I knew.

I hear you. This has hit me harder than most. Thoughts and prayers to his family.