ADVERTISEMENT

Amazing Nvidia numbers

100%. I didn't come from money. I did see my parents go from living with my grandmother when I was a toddler to buying a half a double to buying a modest single-family home before I went off to college. I also happened to have a roommate in undergrad whose dad put $10k in a brokerage account and told him to learn how to invest.

When I graduated, I bought a book about investing and with my first decent money-making job at 22 years old, starting socking away about 50% of my pay into mutual funds and was maxing out my Roth contributions. I didn't have a 401k or matching when I started.

In 3 years, I took a little out and bought my first house, then a 2nd, then a 3rd, then a 4th, all in the next few years (I bought a book about making money in rental properties after the first house). I lived in 3 of those places for a couple of years and then would rent it out after I left. By my early 30s, I owned 4 properties and had a pretty nice little start on a retirement fund. We sacrificed some things that my peers were doing like frequent vacations, expensive new cars, and my time with self-managing the rental properties.

At some point, ETFs came along and so my savings started going there instead of mutual funds. I've done individual stocks as well but that's been hit or miss. I have one about to go completely under and a few down significantly while others have over doubled and over tripled since buying in the last few years. The individual stocks are mostly for fun, and the bulk of the portfolio is in real estate and ETFs, plus those early mutual funds.