ADVERTISEMENT

What happened on first play last dribe?

ritaith

Nov 8, 2001
I thought if the ball
Went behind line of scrimmage it was a live ball.

Has that rule changed?

Was
A pretty big play...

I thought if the ball
Went behind line of scrimmage it was a live ball.

Has that rule changed?

Was
A pretty big play...
They said Qb arm moving forward so incomplete pass.
Didn't matter that the ball went backwards as the qb arm was moving forward when hit

Reactions: bytir
Perriera said if the arm is moving forward, which it was, it doesn't matter if the ball goes forwards or backwards, it is a forward pass.
I assume he knows the rules since that is his job, but it does suck

They said Qb arm moving forward so incomplete pass.
Didn't matter that the ball went backwards as the qb arm was moving forward when hit
Yes it would because a “backwards pass” is by definition a “lateral”

I'm no expert but if the arm was going forward, how did the ball land 1 yard behind the release point? No matter how you slice it, we got screwed there. It was either a fumble or a lateral. There's no other possibility. I dare anyone to throw the ball forward and have it land 1 yard behind them!

Reactions: BBrown
I'm no expert but if the arm was going forward, how did the ball land 1 yard behind the release point? No matter how you slice it, we got screwed there. It was either a fumble or a lateral. There's no other possibility. I dare anyone to throw the ball forward and have it land 1 yard behind them!
He intended to throw it forward. Delaney said so. So it is.

Seriously, if that is the rule there is way too much judgment involved. Was he throwing to the rb in the flat or the te 2 yards over line or wr downfield?

I'm not sure I've ever seen an "arm going forward" but the ball going backwards scenario. But, it was correct(see b):

Forward and Backward Pass ARTICLE 2.

a.