ADVERTISEMENT

Thoughts on run game

Nittany18

Dec 28, 2013
Our run game and how well Auburn ran against our defense.

Im very happy with the win, but for once, I want to watch a game where my bp doesn’t go through the roof,

Reactions: Ranger Dan

Im very happy with the win, but for once, I want to watch a game where my bp doesn’t go through the roof,
Lovett needs waaaayyyy more carries. I believe he’s the guy.

Reactions: We Are . . .
1) Cain is not quite back to old form. He doesn't turn the ball over and he's been good in pass protection. He's a capable receiver and doesn't create negative plays, but he's not hitting the holes hard yet.

2) OL is better at pass blocking right now and it seems that was the primary focus between the end of last year and now.

3) I'm no expert at grading OL run blocking, but it seems that we are looking for options on the interior. I didn't notice Wilson making mistakes as much as Whigan did week 1 yet they still give Effner quite a few snaps tonight.

Did Holmes get in tonight? Somebody mentioned it in the game thread, but I didn't notice. If so, where did he play? It's good that our staff is still trying to improve the situation.

4) Lee looks like the type of RB who would move the sticks. He's caught the Miles Sanders fumbling though and it's very apparent that Yurcich and Seider are not going to give reps to someone who is a threat to fumble. His playing time is going to be week to week and graded every snap.

5) Lovett seems capable of filling a role in our back field. Does ball security promote him to #2 next week? Can he add the home run threat dimension?

6) the zone read style hand offs might be lacking in the rushing production department, but the PA off it has been tremendous. SC not keeping let's the defense focus on our RBs, but when our QB is burning them off it, that's an excellent trade off.

Overall analysis: