ADVERTISEMENT

Penn State takes a lead role in autism awareness

I know this view isn't popular but awareness campaigns for anything seem like a waste of money. If it was for autism research and possible prevention I'd be 100% on board but to have fund raisers to make people "aware" doesn't make sense to me. I know autism exists and I know there are many dedicated people willing to assist those who are autistic. I've seen awareness campaigns for any number of illnesses or social issues but I doubt much of that money was earmarked to help solve the problem. Who gets all that "awareness" money anyway??

Good to hear. I used to see those Autism magnets and never give them a second thought......until I had a little girl with Low Spectrum Autism. Thank God she's affectionate and sweet as can be! I hope someday I'm able to have a conversation with her. I'd give just about anything for that to happen.

This post was edited on 3/26 7:26 AM by LionsandBear

I work in the field of developmental disabilities and, unfortunately, the rise in Autism diagnosis is really influenced by people who do not do a thorough enough job in the evaluation process. it is a great thing to be more aware of a "potential" condition, however, a better approach would be a consistent regimen of evaluations that should be done prior to even making the diagnosis (evaluate the child at home, school, public). Society is too ready to label someone with a condition when, just maybe, that is not the condition. I have seen kids diagnosed with Autism by a 10 minute observation with no empirical evidence. There are many conditions out there that have symptoms similar to some, and I emphasize some, of the symptoms of Autism. There are no specific medical test for Autism, so most diagnoses are based upon subjective viewpoints. I truly believe symptom substitution is a major source of the increase in Autism diagnosis (interestingly the prevalence of intellectual disability and developmental language disorders app