ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Is it worth paying the extra $ for an Apple iPad vs. other tablet options?

Jerademan74

Gold Member
Jun 29, 2011
Atlanta, GA
I have an iPhone, but would prefer a more work friendly tablet so I don't have to lug around my heavy Laptop on business trips. What are your suggestions?

I have an iPhone, but would prefer a more work friendly tablet so I don't have to lug around my heavy Laptop on business trips. What are your suggestions?

If you have an iPhone you might as well get the iPad to facilitiate cross-device sharing. For example, if you bookmark a page on your phone, the same bookmark will show up on your ipad.

For what it's worth. I had an iPad2 right when it came out. 2 years ago I bought a Nexus 7 and switched back to an iPad Mini 2 this past fall. I have no experience in the Surface tablets but must admit they look pretty nice, but I don't need a keyboard and that power.

The ability to continue stuff from your iPad to your iPhone seamlessly and visa versa is worth it to me. Also remember the resale value of apple products are much higher than others.

My $.2

Definitely take a look at the Surface.
I like not being tied to Apple/ITunes for the entertainment I put on my Surface.

Well, you went with Apple, so there is something to be said for sticking with them - compatibility/interoperability with your phone and the same interface.
But Steve Jobs' products are always overpriced and designed to attract the suckers.

I have an iPhone and iPad and like that I can use the iCloud to communicate between devices. Big advantage. I have both iPad and iPad mini and prefer the mini. Easier to carry around and still big enough to see.

If you use your phone for work (emails, calendar, etc) the syncing is great. Also, the learning curve will be small as you know how to use your phone. The iPad is essentially the same in terms of the interface.