ADVERTISEMENT

I'm leaning towards learning the guitar..

rotzc

Jan 4, 2002
I'm looking for suggestions for guitars, online learning or anything in general to help a 52 year learn guitar. I started playing piano two Christmas's ago but I can't play chords with my right hand. Broke it years ago and can not move my ring finger independently of my middle or pinky. Figured guitar might be possible alternative..

Reactions: NedFromYork
I'm looking for suggestions for guitars, online learning or anything in general to help a 52 year learn guitar. I started playing piano two Christmas's ago but I can't play chords with my right hand. Broke it years ago and can not move my ring finger independently of my middle or pinky. Figured guitar might be possible alternative..
Good luck! You will still struggle with some stuff due to your right hand injury. other songs will be fine.

I tried to learn in my later years and just couldn't make it. I tried to teach myself but that only got me so far. I then took lessons from a guy that played as a backup for Alice Cooper for years. My challenge was that I just couldn't get beyond the lack of linearity that other instruments provide. Piano, for example, is just a linear set of keys that changes the note. I know it gets complex but that is the baseline, at least. Too much biz travel, kids events and family obs. Finally, I broke the little finger of my left hand (being right handed) and that was that. I did have a family member that started in his 50's and got good. He said his inflection point was playing with garage bands. He started playing rythim guitar and gradually worked his way up with help from bankmates.

You can pick up some good used guitars and any decent music instrument or lesson shop. Lots of people start out with low to medium costs and then move up. They trade in or sell their older equipment. I've got an almost unused Fendor Strat that is quite good but it is nothing more than a decoration now.

StratAPR3SB-xlarge.jpg