ADVERTISEMENT

Coach LaVar Arrington

My high school used to play Maranatha back when I was a student there. Very cool. I'm wondering what LaVar's connection to Maranatha Prep is. Pasadena, California is a long way from his old stomping grounds, no?

Reactions: 91Joe95
"And this, kids, is how you make a proper tackle."

dm_160724_cfb_100_lavar_arrington_jumps_over_line.jpg

My high school used to play Maranatha back when I was a student there. Very cool. I'm wondering what LaVar's connection to Maranatha Prep is. Pasadena, California is a long way from his old stomping grounds, no?

I think when he left the DC area to work for the NFL Network he ended up in LA. From there, he became the LB coach at Long Beach Poly. Natural progression after that I guess.

I think when he left the DC area to work for the NFL Network he ended up in LA. From there, he became the LB coach at Long Beach Poly. Natural progression after that I guess.
Long Beach Poly has become a big time football program. A national power that ranks with De La Salle (Concord, CA), Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), Mater Dei (Orange County), and Bellevue (Washington) as the leading high school football programs from the West. Maranatha is FAR below the stature of those programs, but LaVar is the head coach, which is big. He is building up a good coaching resume. Would not be surprised to see him coaching college ball in a few years.

Long Beach Poly has become a big time football program. A national power that ranks with De La Salle (Concord, CA), Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), Mater Dei (Orange County), and Bellevue (Washington) as the leading high school football programs from the West. Maranatha is FAR below the stature of those programs, but LaVar is the head coach, which is big. He is building up a good coaching resume. Would not be surprised to see him coaching college ball in a few years.