ADVERTISEMENT

Anyone watching Challenger series on Netflix

I am at the same spot as you. Watched the first two. I was a Freshman at PSU when it happened. I never realized how much they actually knew about the problems before the accident. Of course, it's always easier to see in hindsight.

Last edited:
'I felt exactly how you would feel if you were getting ready to launch and knew you were sitting on top of 2 million parts — all built by the lowest bidder on a government contract.’

— Attributed to John Glenn

Reactions: Grass and john4psu
“Friend of a friend” thing. Guy I knew hunted a lot out west. Knew one of the top engineers where they tested the rockets......Utah or Idaho....don’t remember which. The guy felt so terrible about it he killed himself.

That is one day most of us will never forget. I was in a 4th grade classroom at the time and I can remember it like it was yesterday.

Let me know how you like it after you finish it.
Just saw the 3rd episode out of 4 which ends with the explosion. Brutal. Peter Billingsley of a Christmas Story was head of the Young Astronaut program and was there at 15 years old watching - episode ends with him having the classic 1000 yard stare thinking about it.

I remember being in a dorm room with about 8 people on my hall in shock

Reactions: AtlantaLion
I’ve watched only the first two as well. Very interesting. Of course, I have a little extra vested interest. One of my teachers was one of the final ten: Niki Wenger. I was in junior high at the time and she had left to train at NASA.

I remember that day well. We were supposed to have a big assembly to watch the launch, but instead/luckily we had a snow day. My siblings and I were watching it when it happened. Afterwards, Mrs. Wenger came back and they did news pieces with her, and they filmed us as we watched the launch. Not exactly how you want to spend a day in class.

Reactions: The Spin Meister