ADVERTISEMENT

2018 PSU WSOC Thread

I think the ref got it right. Looked like whole ball was inside. Tough one.

anybody have video of the play in question? I didn't see the game, but from the write-up it sounds as though PSU's GK was bumped on the play. I'd like to see the play.

anybody have video of the play in question? I didn't see the game, but from the write-up it sounds as though PSU's GK was bumped on the play. I'd like to see the play.
Tom, I was watching the game and it appeared the UCLA player and our goalie met @ the ball which caused the PSU goalie to be brushed back in the goal. Didn'T appear to be a purposeful shove, rather incidental contact. I have no idea what the rule is, but our goalie definitely had the ball across the line in the goal, although it was very close. Again, I have no knowledge of the rule book on such a play.

Tom, I was watching the game and it appeared the UCLA player and our goalie met @ the ball which caused the PSU goalie to be brushed back in the goal. Didn'T appear to be a purposeful shove, rather incidental contact. I have no idea what the rule is, but our goalie definitely had the ball across the line in the goal, although it was very close. Again, I have no knowledge of the rule book on such a play.

For a not-very-definitive video:

3gFJ8uDeyZvXjRXgLqe00jtFHZRzvVzdwv_W46REGY8xd-3vMb5FVpWpo8nDBuOcPPH9wBiyK1iEhvOiAXiv6F4PQto_cVtOQqFtO5IAdB_vl9GSus6II7actdDlMJbQ7V8rcYXT

For a still photo, which doesn't show what happened before:

Rick asked about the actual rule. That's not as helpful as you might think. A goal is scored if the entire ball crossed the vertical goal line (i.e., passed the imaginary line between the line on the field and the crossbar). In the above tweet, the ball has certainly crossed the line.

However, if the goalie collects the ball, or catches the ball, and is fouled (bumped into, pushed, kicked, etc.), which causes her to "fall" into the goal, the ref should call the foul, and no goal is scored.